Goodbye, kind of, for now

the northern Presidentials
the northern Presidentials, NH

So tomorrow, I head out for the beginning of what will be a pretty great 5 months.

Tomorrow (June 9th, 2013), I’m driving up to Piermont, NH to join my summer family at Camp Walt Whitman!  For 2 months in New Hampshire, I will be guiding kids on hiking, backpacking, and camping trips all throughout the White Mountains!  Getting to hike everyday?  A dream come true.

Almost immediately after finishing my time in New Hampshire, I will be heading south again, to Great Smoky Mountains National Park in Tennessee/North Carolina!  I just recently accepted an internship as a Interpretation Ranger in Cade’s Cove, on the TN side of the park.  I will be there for 3 months.  Take a trip to this great national park and visit me!  I am super excited for this opportunity to work within a national park, as that is the agency I think I would like to work for as a career.  Without a doubt, the hiking will be amazing there too.

view from Cade's Cove, where I'll be working
view from Cade’s Cove, where I’ll be working

The thing is, for the next 5 months, I will have very inconsistent access to a reliable internet connection (as well as cell phone service or TV).  So, it is going to be difficult for me to update the blog, or keep up with the outside world at all.  I will try my hardest, but posts will probably be few and far between.

However, at least for a while, I am accomplishing my goal of never working inside a day in my life, as for both of these jobs I will be outside virtually every day.

So on that note, I will catch up with you all when I can.  I hope you all have amazing summers and beautiful transitions into autumn.  Wherever you are, hike on, smart and safe, but free in mind and spirit.  Enjoy!

“The mountains are calling and I must go.”  – John Muir

One thought on “Goodbye, kind of, for now

Leave a Reply

