Quick Hut Wrap Up

I am all finished working at Zealand Falls Hut with the Appalachian Mountain Club, and back to having consistent internet access.  The rest of the season was phenomenal.  I enjoyed:

  • absolutely spectacular fall foliage
fall foliage around Zealand pond
fall foliage around Zealand pond

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • an undercast in Zealand Notch

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • shenanigans with my fellow ‘croo’
how we clean windows
how we clean windows

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • a ‘croo switch’ to Greenleaf Hut. I had the opportunity to hike up the Old Bridle Path and work there for an evening while one of their croo members came and worked at Zealand.  It was fun to work with a different croo and at a different hut.  It was quite a bit colder up at Greenleaf as compared to Zealand Falls.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Greenleaf Hut

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • an insane amount of rainfall one day, causing the waterfall to swell higher than I’d ever seen it
Zealand Falls after heavy rain
Zealand Falls after heavy rain

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • the season’s first snow

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • a rare opportunity to meet people I admire very much:  John and Jen Kimmich of the Alchemist Brewery in Waterbury, VT, the brewers of the infamous Heady Topper!  The Kimmiches happened to stay at the hut one evening with their son.  I had the opportunity to talk brewery and beer stuff with them, and get brewing advice from John.  It was very cool! In their appreciation for our work, they sent us a case of Heady Toppers and Alchemist t-shirts!
the Kimmiches and friends
the Kimmiches and friends

 

Thank you so much to the AMC, the White Mountains, thru-hikers, guests, information volunteers, and my fellow croo members for an amazing fall and first season working in the huts!

5 thoughts on “Quick Hut Wrap Up

  1. Enjoyed your commentary about the Whites and the AMC huts. I am a 1973 thru-hiker. Also finished a 15-year section hike last July. Wondering if you would like a copy of my recently published novel about thru-hiking, THRU: An Appalachian Trail Love Story. Send me a mailing address, and mail a copy. Would love for you to comment about it in Hiking Hokie. Richard Judy 770 992 5268

    THRU: An Appalachian Trail Love Story, is available at http://www.Amazon.com and http://www.barnesandnoble.com

    Follow my blog at http://www.thru-novel.com and enjoy http://www.facebook.com/THRUstory

  2. Hi Chris, my friend Pete and I stayed at the Zealand Falls Hut for a night in october. We had a great time up there. It was my first stay at an AMC hut and the first time I went to New Hampshire. So beautiful up there. All the best from Germany, Mark

Leave a Reply

