Good and Bad in the Pacific Northwest

It has been two months since my last blog post.  I have been meaning to post for quite some time, but as I’m sure you all know, life gets busy, and occasionally, things get pushed aside, even things you like.  Bad.

Since my last post, I have landed a job here in Seattle.  I am working with an arboriculture company, which has been a great learning experience.  I am working outside each day, regardless of weather, learning a lot about wood, tree healthcare, and pest management.  I am learning critical natural resources skills in the field, and studying outside of work to bone up on my knowledge.  Good.

However, the job is so physically demanding that I am exhausted each day.  I have found it somewhat difficult to the find the energy to pursue the interests I am most passionate about, such as hiking and climbing.  Honestly, it has been difficult to find the energy and focus to read.  Not only has it made me tired, but I unfortunately suffered a hernia at work.  I have received surgery, and it went well, but recovery has certainly been a slow and frustrating process.  Being unable to physically dedicate my body to outdoor pursuits has been an emotional challenge.  I remain humble, realizing my problem is small, but being my first serious injury ever, it has been tough for me. Due to my hernia, I haven’t been able to hike at all since early January, and have been spending most of my time in bed listening to cars and motorcycles go by on Aurora Avenue.  Bad.

at Snow Lake
at Snow Lake

My last hike was a snowy one, up to the very popular Snow Lake.  It was beautiful, and getting out before the crowds, I had it to myself for about three quarters of the time.  I even spent about 40 minutes all alone laying down in the lake basin, listening to nothing but the wind.  I had a great time, and can see why it is so popular.  Good.

As I sit around and try to dream up trip ideas around the Pacific Northwest, I have been getting very overwhelmed.  The area is extremely vast.  I am somewhat disabled by the amount of choice.  Hopefully, upon my full recovery coming into spring, I can become better acquainted with these mountains and make the most of my time here.  I’m sure I’ll be able to get out there and will be grateful for any experiences I have, but I have a bad habit of experiencing a ‘fear of missing out’ on other opportunities, places, and mountains, and just hope I get to see and do as much as I want over the next few months.  A Good Problem to Have.

I recently purchased a DSLR camera.  While it is bigger and heavier than is really ideal for hiking, I do hope to take it out on the trails.  I hope to improve my photography skills, and display them here on this blog.  Keep an eye out.  Good.

Also, somewhat unexpectedly, I’ve had a lot of visitors here in Seattle.  Friends and family from home, camp, the AMC, and college have all been here and made time to meet up, even if just traveling through.  For that I am grateful, and it has made me realize how much of a destination Seattle actually is.  Good.

Ultimately, life has been a bit of a roller coaster lately…really high highs, and pretty low lows.  Sometimes, you just have to take the good with the bad.  Think of this as just a ‘checking in’ post.  I hope to type up some more inspired posts soon.

From Snow Lake Trail
From Snow Lake Trail
from Snow Lake
from Snow Lake
Leave a Reply

