A Himalayan Hello!

Namaste from the Himalayas!
I told you in “Dropping Buckets: Updates and Reflections from the Last Five Months” that I had “BIG plans.” I didn’t reveal those plans to many people until now, but those plans involved the biggest mountains of all.

I’m sitting in Namche Bazaar, Nepal, one day from the end of a Himalayan trek.  I have successfully backpacked from Jiri over to and up the Khumbu Valley to Everest Base Camp, up Kala Patthar at 18,519 feet, over the glaciated Cho La Pass to Gokyo, up Gokyo Ri at 17,575 feet, and back down to Gokyo Valley to return to Lukla for a flight back to Kathmandu.  It was an incredible 19 day journey, fulfilling one of my lifelong dreams to trek in Nepal and set my own eyes on the world’s highest peak, Mt. Everest (Sagarmatha, Chomolungma).

I have lots more to say, and hopefully I can find adequate time and a proper computer to write full length blog posts.  Until then, I’ll be updating from an iPhone as I continue my travels throughout Asia.  Posts from my phone will mostly consist of photos and a few short thoughts.

As the spring snow melts away, I hope you’re finding the time to dust off your hiking boots and muddy them up on trail!

A few pictures from my Himalayan trek below:

 

IMG_0066
Looking up the Khumbu Valley, Ama Dablam in view
IMG_0063
Sherpa porters putting AMC Hut kids to shame
IMG_0123
Namche Bazaar
IMG_0097
Everest Base Camp
IMG_0075
On top of Kala Patthar, repping the Hokies.  Everest behind.
IMG_0081
Panorama, prominent features:  Lingtren, Changtse (Tibet), Everest West Ridge, Everest Summit, Khumbu Glacier, Nuptse, Ama Dablam
IMG_0111
Undercast from the summit of Gokyo Ri, Ngozumpa Glacier and Gokyo Lakes below the clouds

 

2 thoughts on “A Himalayan Hello!

  1. Beautiful! I just got back from a Himalayan Trek myself along the India-Nepal border in early April.. Didn’t get near as close to Everest as you did but I did get to see it from a distance. Can’t wait to read more postings about your trip!

Leave a Reply

